Forfar West End 0 Lochee United 2

Lochee United were crowned East Superleague champions with this hard-fought victory over Forfar West End.

Mathematically still needing a point to clinch the title, the Bluebells never really looked in trouble against the only side to have taken points off them this season.

And, remarkably, the Thomson Park outfit have conceded only one goal on their travels in the league and that was way back in October at Glenrothes.

West End never looked like adding to that total though they couldn’t be faulted for effort.

In the fifth minute a Grant Lawson shot was parried by keeper Aaron Morrison into the path of Scott Webster but the full back sent his shot wildly over the bar.

But the opening goal was only delayed three minutes, Lawson finding Danny CAVANAGH racing in at the back post to net.

Connor Birse then provided fellow striker Scott McComiskie with a chance but his shot skimmed across the face of Morrison’s goal.

It was 37 minutes before Forfar seriously tested Jordan Millar in the visitors’ goal, Craig Batchelor playing in Andy Walls, whose near post flick was kept out by Millar’s feet.

Four minutes into the second half Cavanagh found McComiskie and the striker’s blistering shot came back off the far post with Morrison beaten.

A Webster ball to Birse looked promising but for a timely interception from West End full back Robbie George.

On 53 minutes Lochee went two up, McCOMISKIE heading home a cross from the left.

Ten minutes later Walls claimed for a penalty when he went down in the box but the referee waved play on and Lochee resumed on the offensive.

A superb run by Webster saw him take a one-two with Birse and bear down on the home side’s goal but Morrison was out quickly to deny the Lochee man.

Stephen McNally was next to have a go for the visitors but Morrison was alert and saved easily.

The Lochee keeper had to make only his second real save of the game in the dying minutes when he held a Ryan Cruickshanks effort, but the Bluebells were home and dry at that time and were able to celebrate a famous title win with two games to spare.

Forfar West End: Morrison, George, Cruickshanks, Rae, Allan, Robertson, Petrie, Timmons, McIlravey 66), Batchelor, Montgomery (McMahon 66), Walls (Hart 81).

Lochee United: Millar, Webster, McNally, Kirk, McDonald, Ritchie (Davie 81), Cavanagh (Reid 81), McWalter, Lawson, Birse (Deasley 76), McComiskie.

Written on 20 May 2019